Region 1 qualifiers seek state berths in Lubbock (boys)

What: Region 1 Cross Country Championship.

When: Monday, Oct – 24. 4A Girls, 8 a.m.; 4A Boys, 8:30 a.m.; 6A Girls, 9:30 a.m.; 6A Boys, 10:10 a.m. Tuesday, Oct. 25 –  3A Girls, 8 a.m.; 3A Boys, 8:30 a.m.; 5A Girls, 9:30 a.m.; 5A Boys, 10:10 a.m.

Where: Mae Simmons Park, MLK Blvd. and 24th Street in Lubbock.

At Stake: Top four teams and top 10 individuals not on a qualifying team advance to the UIL Cross Country State Championship, Saturday Nov. 2 and 3 at Old Settlers Park in Round Rock.

Franklin won its first district championship.

The Franklin boys, who won the District 1-6A for the first time in school history, are looking to create more milestones Monday at the Region 1-6A Championship.

The Cougars, who did not qualify for regionals last season, won the district scoring 27 points at the Horizon Golf Course.

Franklin placed all five scoring runners in the top eight.

Senior Diego Flores was third in 16:09.25 followed by junior Matthew Engle (fourth, 16:22.82), senior Denovan Estrada (fifth, 16:30.64), junior Juan Leal (seventh, 16:55.61) and junior Sebastian Gonzalez (eighth, 16:56.36).

Eastwood, which earned a silver medal last year, is seeking its ninth straight trip to state – its tenth in 11 years.

The Troopers finished second at the District 1-6A Championship, scoring 58 points. The team had three runners in the top 10 – senior Anthony Casillas (sixth, 16:48.92), junior Alex Flores (ninth, 17:01.53) and senior Matthew Marshall (tenth, 17:03.57).

Pebble Hills senior Omer Ibrahim won the individual title in 15:53.81 and is looking to advance to his second appearance at state. He finished third at last year’s regionals.

Coronado will be third representative out of District 1-6A. Senior Luis Pastor was district runner-up, finishing in 16:03.92. He too qualified for state last year, finishing the regional course in fifth in 15:47.0.

El Paso High won the District 1-5A Championship.

District 1-5A

The Tigers won the District 1-5A Championship at Mary Keisling Park with 21 points and advanced to its second straight regionals championship. The team was 15th in the region in Class 5A last year.

At district, El Paso had four runners in the top 10 including the top two who set personal best times.  Sophomore Miles Westbrook won the event in 16:21.57 and junior Leo Valenzuela was second in 16:32.94. Junior Aydan Lugo was fifth in 17:20.61 and sophomore Lorenzo Shields was seventh in 17:26.48.

Also advancing are Canutillo and Chapin.

The Eagles finished second at the District 1-5A with 60 points.  Canutillo had two runners – senior Esteban Aguilera (sixth, 17:21.25) and junior Omar Rivera (eighth, 17:36.08) – in the top 10.

Chapin had two runners in the top 10 – sophomore Braulio Torres (fourth, 16:38.09) and Sean Sanchez (ninth,      17:54.09).

Burges senior Matthew Guerra was third in 16:37.78 and Jefferson junior Francisco Reyes was tenth in 17:58.24 and advance to regionals.

Parkland’s Michael Castorena and Efren Moncada finished 1-2 at the District 2-5A Championship.

District 2-5A

The Bel Air Highlanders won the District 2-5A Championship at Horizon Golf Course with 52 points.

Bel Air had three runners in the top seven including junior Leonardo Resendez (fourth, 18:24.96), junior Hernnan Duarte (sixth, 18:50.23) and senior William Potter (seventh, 19:01.40). Bel Air will compete at the Region 1-5A Championship Tuesday in Lubbock.

Del Valle was second with 61 points and Hanks third with 62 points and will also advance.

Del Valle had two runners in the top 10 – Cesar Ruiz (fifth, 18:43.81) and Damian Espinoza (ninth, 19:17.76), as did Hanks – Alejandro Tarin (third, 18:00.50) and Angel Gomez (eighth, 19:01.55).

Tarin, a senior, finished 16th in 16:29.1 at last year’s regionals and advanced to state.

Parkland’s Michael Castorena won the individual title in 17:19.53 and teammate Efren Moncada was second in 17:30.82 and advance to regionals as will Ysleta’s Owen Rubio was tenth in 19:20.77.

Riverside won the District 1-4A Championship.

District 1-4A

Riverside won the District 1-4A Championship with 32 points, followed closely by Austin (36). Bowie finished third with 87 points and advanced to regionals.

The Rangers had four runners in the top 10 – Kevin Perez (third, 19:09.80), Pablo Fuentes (fourth, 19:39.78), Angel Navarrete  (fifth, 19:57.84) and Adam Valdiviezo (ninth,        20:09.43).

Austin also had four runners in the top 10 – Nathaniel Delgado (second, 18:37.04), Pedro Jimenez (sixth, 20:01.80), Eirik Arredondo (seventh, 20:06.95) and Jeremiah Loustaunau (eighth, 20:08.43).

Bowie’s Cesar Duran was tenth in 20:20.06.

Harmony Science’s Jesus Herrera won the individual crown in 17:31.09.

San Elizario is back to regionals.

District 2-4A

San Elizario won the District 2-4A title at the Horizon Golf Course with 15 points.

Eagle runners took seven of the top 8 spots lead by senior Chris Moreno who won the event in 17:20.92. Junior Julian Guerra was second in 17:34.21 followed by junior Angel Maese (fourth, 17:44.02), junior Gustavo Salazar (fifth, 18:18.71), senior Emilio Solano (sixth, 18:43.92), senior Matthew Maese (seventh, 18:49.81) and Luis Marquez (eighth, 19:01.29).

Moreno is looking to defend his Region 1-4A championship. He won last year in overwhelming fashion, racing to a 14-second margin of victory, finishing the course in 15:40.9.

San Elizario finished second as a team.

The Eagles are hoping to make its ninth straight trip to state.

Fabens and Valle Verde Early College also advanced. Early College runner Marin Maldanado was tenth in      19:04.83.

Mt. View’s Edward Robledo-Gonzales was third in 17:41.67 and Fabens’ Rafael Gomez was ninth in 19:03.25 and advance to regionals.

Tornillo’s Angel Torres looks to return to state.

District 4-3A

Tornillo finished second at the District 4-3A Championship behind Presidio.

Senior Angel Torres won the individual title in 16:50 and junior Daniel Romero was second in 17:21.

The team is looking to return to state after not qualifying last year. It was the first time in nine years the team failed to do so.

However, junior Daniel Romero and senior Angel Torres reached qualifying times to advance.

Romero was third in 16:48.0 and Torres 14th in 18:14.1.